Motivated

Day 14 March 3

Carter Gap to Winding Stair Gap, North Carolina

The cold and the snow started last night off in a proper dismal setting.  I didn’t sleep very well in the shelter and I didn’t want to get out of a toasty sleeping bag this morning.  My mood was dour and not positive in the least.

As I stepped out and around the shelter I stood gazing at the most beautiful mountains and the clear blue mountain sky and I was awestruck. The first thing that came to my mind was “This is the day that the Lord has made and I will rejoice and be glad in it.” All of a sudden I felt energized and ready to hike!

Stunning Day 14 Carter to Franklin
I started out hiking with one of my shelter mates and shortly after we started he dropped back but I kept going. The reason I wanted to get an early start was so that I could hike 16 miles and get to Franklin, North Carolina for a little R&R.  I needed to wash — myself and my clothes.  When we left the shelter it was still cold out and the snow on the ground was 2 to 3 inches deep.  It was soft but not sloppy.  As I hiked through the day it became very muddy and messy going, especially in the areas exposed to sunlight.

Trail on Albert Mountain

Trail on Albert Mountain

I had a difficult time going up Albert Mountain.  It is straight up with no switch backs and mostly snow-covered rock. I couldn’t manage more than this picture hanging on to my trekking poles, the phone/camera and my balance!  There was a moment when I truly wondered if I was going to make it without technical climbing equipment.  At one point I was hiking on a 12″ wide path of snowy, wet rock and a 70′ sheer drop on the right. (Don’t tell my wife, she will haul me home!)

March 4 Carter Gap to Franklin
Speaking of my wife, I sent her a text message mid-afternoon asking her to help me get a ride into Franklin.  She contacted Beverly Carini, a hiker-friendly soul who shuttles hikers to and from the trail into town and back.  Franklin, NC sits about 10 miles from the A.T.   Beverly stopped what she was doing at home and drove to Winding Stair Gap and Hwy 64. I had just arrived. (Thankyou Beverly!)  She shuttled me to my hotel to drop off my gear and then on to Willies Barbecue where I ate myself silly!  Brisket, fries and cobbler with ice cream!  No need to worry about calories out on the AT and I highly recommend Willies if you find yourself in Franklin, North Carolina.

Starting  MM     93.9    Carter Cap Shelter at  8 a.m.
Arrived   MM   109.8   Winding Stair Gap at 4 p.m.
15.7 mountainous miles in 8 hours.   I’m resting tomorrow.

From The Trail,
Pilgrim

P.S.  SlimTim, I got my first boo-boo today.  I’d show you but then I would have to explain it to Catherine!

Psalm 118:24
This is the day that the Lord has made;

let us rejoice and be glad in it.

This entry was posted in Pilgrim and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Motivated

  1. Joyce Adams says:

    Keep up the good work! I hope you can get some good rest tonight! We are praying for you & safety!
    Blessings!
    Joyce Adams

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    Lovely scenery. I know Mike wishes he was out there too. Good luck.

    Like

  3. Eileen Waddington says:

    That sounds like an amazing adventure day, hope the bo bo not too serious. I can imagine how you were inspired to walk by those views they are just stunning. I’m walking in the Lakes on Monday with my chums but don’t think it will match your challenges. Will think of you and continue to will you on. Enjoy your rest day and Willies if you manage a second visit! 😘😘👍

    Like

  4. Jill Harrison says:

    Lee, you are such an inspiration and it has been fun following your journey thus far. Jeff and I rented the movie “A Walk In The Woods” a few nights ago and thought of you. We were excited to be able to see some of the landmarks in the movie that you have been writing about. We are praying for you as you continue to live out your dream (even though we think you are a little bit crazy 😉). Keep the posts coming, we are enjoying living vicariously through you.

    Like

  5. Bonnie says:

    Lee, I , along with many of Catherine’s friends are really enjoying reading about your great adventure! Your writings bring your hike to life-excellent journalism! Keep safe and happy hiking😊!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Views Like I’m On Top Of The World | A TimLee Adventure on the Appalachian Trail

Leave a Reply

